Last Year, Part One (Joey Wright)

We have reached out to different people within & around the HSAL camp to find out what inspired them last year. In the coming days, we’ll post a series of lists. Our hope is that you will get an idea of where we are coming from. Here’s what Joey Wright, half of the improv duo honeybrandy, turned in:

#1: Battles, “La Di Da Di” – I am inspired by this album because of the intricacy of the melodies, rhythms, and tones used. The highly digital tones used by the instrumentation is very harsh. I struggle to get my own musical sounds to work with harsh tones, so hearing this helps me define what I can and can’t do with my own music. I like music that I don’t fully comprehend at first listen. This album really pushes me to understand rhythms and melody even when it feels almost random.

#2: Makoto FujimuraThis man’s philosophy on art and culture is astounding. He loves creativity and expression like very few other people I’ve heard of. I got into his beliefs because they inspired me to be better and work harder without belittling my preferences for expression however unconventional.

#3: The Duomo (Florence, Italy) – Previously the most inspiring place on earth in my humble opinion was Trevi Fountain (in Rome), but after seeing the Duomo in person all the architecture and history right in from of me was overwhelming. It is a place that forces you to consider what a group of people collectively can accomplish over time.

#4: “Ex Machina” (film) – The visuals and story were beautifully disturbing. The philosophy of the film had this question at heart; ‘what is consciousness?’. It is a compelling thought to me. It is a film that makes your confront your humanity or lack thereof. On top of that the ‘what is good and evil?’ and ‘could technology be either of these?’ undertones makes me consider what humanities future with technology will look like.

#5: Monument Valley (game) – I’ve always been inspired by Escher and other optical illusions. But being able to interact with one blows my mind. Imagining such a game let alone creating it inspires me to push beyond what I believe possible both conceptually and artistically.

 

Leave a Reply

